Sam Gordon Named Winner of First Game Changer Presented by Secret Deodorant at NFL Honors


Two-Hour Primetime Awards Show on NBC Recognizes Outstanding Players

and Performances from 2017 Season and Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018

SAM GORDON, 14, was named the first GAME CHANGER PRESENTED BY SECRET DEODORANT. The award was announced tonight at NFL HONORS – a two-hour primetime awards show that will air nationally tonight at 9 PM ET/PT on NBC.

Gordon’s story started when she was a nine-year-old girl dominating an almost all-boys tackle league in Utah.  However, a few years later, when Sam wanted to keep playing her favorite sport, she learned that there were no more leagues in which girls could play.  Gordon and her father, Brent, launched the Utah Girls Tackle Football League – the first all-girls tackle football league.  It was an immediate hit – doubling in size after its first year – and inspiring similar leagues in Indiana, Georgia, and Canada.

The Game Changer presented by Secret Deodorant was created to celebrate those who are committed to moving the game forward. This award recognizes a member of the football family who has positively contributed to the sport and his or her community.

On the eve of Super Bowl LII, featuring the New England Patriots against the Philadelphia Eagles, the NFL and THE ASSOCIATED PRESS announced their annual accolades in an awards show recognizing the best players, performances and plays from the 2017 season.

Emmy-nominated actor and comedian ROB RIGGLE hosted the show, and many of the winners were on-hand to accept their awards at Northrop at the University of Minnesota.

The newest PRO FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME class was announced and introduced during the show with the Class of 2018 appearing on stage at Northrop at the University of Minnesota.

The prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide, which recognizes a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence, and the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, as voted by his peers, were among the awards announced this evening.

Seven of the awards were from the AP. These awards are voted on at the end of the regular NFL season by a nationwide media panel of 50 people who regularly cover the league. The ballots are tabulated solely by the AP.

The full list of awards that will be presented is:

AP Most Valuable Player Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide
AP Coach of the Year AP Comeback Player of the Year
AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Microsoft AP Defensive Player of the Year
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year AP Defensive Rookie of the Year
Bridgestone Elite Performance Play of the Year FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year
Salute to Service Award presented by USAA Courtyard’s Greatness on the Road Award
Deacon Jones Award Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year Castrol EDGE Clutch Performer of the Year
Celebration of the Year Game Changer presented by Secret Deodorant


NFL Honors is an NFL Network production in association with Rock Garden Media. For more information about “NFL Honors” fans may visit and follow the #NFLHonors conversation on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.