Dak Prescott 2017 AP Offensive Rookie of the Year

Dak Prescott has been chosen as Associated Offensive Rookie of the year.  Prescott was nominated along with his Dallas Cowboy teammate Ezekiel Elliott, but the QB walked away with the award.  Prescott invited Elliot onstage with him when he went to accept the award and stated, “I wish I had a knife so I could cut this thing in half.”  Prescott felt Elliot deserved the award just as much as he did, “I wouldn’t be where I was without him.”


Prescott also thanked the other 32 teams for passing him up.  He was drafted in the 4th round by the Dallas Cowboys.  Prescott came out of Mississippi State 135th overall in the 2016 NFL Draft.  He had been passed up multiple times by all NFL teams.  “I was passed up 3 times by 33 teams.  The Cowboys just got lucky.”

dak redcrpt

In his rookie year, Prescott passes for 23 touchdowns, four interceptions, and finished the year with a 104.9 rating.  Prescott has attributed much of his success to the Dallas Cowboy offensive line who provide impenetrable protection and helped to elevate them to first in their division and a number one seed in the playoffs.


The AP offensive rookie of the year is chosen by a nationwide panel of 50 sportswriters who vote on the players prior to the playoffs– but after the end of the season.  


Prescott is among a very elite group of quarterbacks who have also received the award.  Previous winners include Matt Ryan, Ben Roethlisberger, Vince Young, and Cam Newton.  

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.